Feelings Activities

Content available in:

All feelings are part of a healthy emotional experience. Explore your grief through your feelings with these activities.

Grief alphabet – Family Activity

Each family member thinks of one word, one feeling, or one phrase for each letter of the alphabet to describe their grief experience. Family members can share a memory of talk about a feeling they came up with. As a family, work together to figure out words for the more difficult letters, such as ‘X.’

feelings pie chart – YOUTH ACTIVITY Ages 12-18

Take a moment to list all of the feelings you have in your grief. Think about how much or how little each of these feelings occur in your grief. Select a color for each feeling in your grief and create slices of “pie” for each feeling. The larger slices are the feelings that are more present and the smaller slices are for those less frequent.

Need help coming up with your list of feelings? Check out the feelings chart that includes a template for your pie chart.

When you look at the Feeling Pie and your growing list of feelings associated with grief, remember that all of these feelings are part of a healthy emotional experience.

In my Heart- YOUTH ACTIVITY Ages 3-11

Read or watch this week’s featured story, In My Heart by Jo Witek. Then, download this special handout to color hearts, or use a sheet of paper to draw your own hearts. Color each heart to represent a different feeling you have and write that feeling next to the heart. Make sure to use a different color for each feeling.

On the second page of the handout, show what your grieving heart looks like. This heart should show all the feelings you have when you are thinking of your special person and how they are not with you anymore. You can use the same feelings you colored in on the first page, to show how much of each feeling is in your grieving heart.

Story Corner

“In My Heart: A Book of Feelings” by Jo Witek. Have you ever felt happiness, sadness, bravery, anger or shyness? Do you understand what it means to feel that way. Join us as we read a charming story about feelings and emotions. As part of the The Growing Hearts series; In My Heart: A Book of Feelings celebrates the milestones of a toddler’s emotional development, from conquering fears and expressing feelings to welcoming a new sibling.

Stay Updated

Get the latest news and updates from Judi's House / JAG Institute

Judi's House